About CETL

The Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL)  


The Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning (CETL) is the comprehensive collaborative hub for the College of Charleston dedicated to providing holistic support and leadership for continued faculty development in teaching and learning attentive to work-life well-being across all stages of an academic career. The CETL partners with faculty, administrators, divisions, and staff to develop, implement, and assess teaching and learning that advance the goals of the College’s strategic plan. The CETL offers programs for professional growth, including one-on-one consultations and academic coaching, as well as small group seminars, workshops, presentations, retreats, and resources on a variety of topics for promoting inclusive teaching effectiveness; scholarship, creative endeavors, and professional development; and service. All CETL programs and services are confidential, voluntary, and formative. 


To support new faculty’s development in teaching and learning 

To promote instructional excellence to benefit student success  

To support and highlight innovative instructional practices 

To cultivate inclusive curricula and classroom climate  

To support self-assessment, critical reflection, and goal setting for personal and professional growth 

To advance the scholarship of teaching and learning 

To support wellness and well-being for all faculty  

To build community and encourage collaboration among faculty 

To foster a culture of curiosity about learning as it relates to teaching, research, mentorship/advising, and service 


The CETL Advisory Committee 

The CETL Advisory Committee is comprised of faculty members from each school and from the library. The committee meets monthly to advise the director on programming and initiatives.  


2022-2023 CETL Advisory Committee 

Margaret Hagood, Director 

Tamara Butler (Libraries) 

Yu Gong (SSME)

Zach Hartje (TLT) 

Lei Jin (LCWA) 

Steve Litvin (SB) 

Janine McCabe (SOTA) 

Brooke Permenter (Honors/Senate)

John S. Peters (SSME)

Chris Warnick (HSS)